Welcome to ACWAP

acwap logo

The Australasian Council of Women and Policing Inc is working to improve policing for women

It was established in August 1997 and is a growing group of women and men within police services, law enforcement agencies and the community who are working together to:

• improve the policing services provided to women;

                            • improve opportunities and outcomes for women within policing;

          • participate in the global network of women in policing.

We invite you to join the Australasian Council of Women and Policing.



2017 Excellence in Policing Awards open from Monday 5 February 2017

Further information can be found here.

Cairns 2017

2017 will see ACWAP co host a conference and awards ceremony with the Queensland Police Service and the International Association of Women in Policing (IAWP).  This conference, titled the International Women and Law Enforcement Conference will be held in Cairns from 17 – 21 September 2017.  Register your interest for this event at 2017.IWLEC@police.qld.gov.au or visit the website for information here.


ACWAP President wins IAWP Officer of the Year Award


Acting Assistant Commissioner Debbie Platz has been globally recognised by receiving the prestigious International Association of Women Police (IAWP) Officer of the Year Award.

This award is awarded to female officers who, by their overall service and accomplishments throughout their career, have distinguished themselves in the four areas of leadership, community service, mentoring and excellence in performance.

Acting Assistant Commissioner Platz has a lengthy and distinguished career in the QPS and has made a significant contribution to policing.  Ms Platz is innovative, professional and an outstanding mentor to officers, especially women across Australasia.




Melbourne Excellence 2016

ACWAP would like to thank everyone who attended the Melbourne Excellence 2016: ‘Leaders of Today. Leading for Tomorrow’.

We would like to congratulate all of our award winners on the night for their hard work and dedication. To see a list of all the award winners, please click here.

Featured below is Bev Lawson Memorial Award recipient Virginia Nelson from the Queensland Police Service.


Bev Lawson Award